Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Nekima Levy Armstrong, JD

Nekima is owner and founder of Black Pearl, LLC, a consulting firm specializing in racial equity, problem solving, community engagement, and public relations. In 2016, she received the Distinguished Service Award from the Governor’s Commission on Martin Luther King Day. In 2015, she was named one of “40 Under 40” by Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal. In 2014, she was named a “Minnesota Attorney of the Year” by Minnesota Lawyer and recognized as one of “50 Under 50 Most Influential Law Professors of Color in the Country” by Lawyers of Color Magazine. She formerly served as a law professor at the University of St. Thomas Law School for thirteen years, as president of the Minneapolis NAACP, and as an adviser to Black Lives Matter Minneapolis. Most recently, she ran for Mayor of Minneapolis, MN.

Nekima has received numerous awards and honors including:

  • Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated "Woman of the Year," Sigma Beta Zeta Chapter Award 2017
  • Somali National Institute, "Community Impact Award," 2016
  • Prince Hall Masons of Minnesota, Thomas H. Lyles Award Recipient, 2016
  • Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal 40 under 40 Honoree 2015
  • Facing Race Ambassador Award Recipient 2015
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated, Epsilon Rho Chapter, "Citizen of the Year" Award 2015
  • Minnesota Lawyer, honored as Attorney of the Year 2014
  • Hennepin County Bar Association (Individual Lawyer) Diversity Award Winner 2014
  • Lawyers of Color Magazine: 50 Under 50 Professors of Color Making an Impact 2014
  • Faculty Member of the Year Award, Black Law Students Association 2014
  • Profile in Courage Award, Minnesota Association of Black Lawyers 2013
  • Inaugural Recipient of Launa Q. Newman Community Justice Award, Minnesota Spokesman Recorder 2012
  • Named One of Ten Outstanding Young Minnesotans by the Minnesota Jaycees 2011
  • Elected into the American Bar Foundation Fellows (honorary society of lawyers and judges) 2011
  • American Association of Law Schools (AALS) Shanara M. Gilbert Award, Emerging Clinician of the Year 2011
  • Outstanding Faculty Service Learning Award, University of St. Thomas 2011
  • GP/Solo American Bar Association, “Breaking Barriers Award,” 2008
  • Kay Pranis Restorative Practices Award, Dispute Resolution Center 2008
  • Dean’s Award for Outstanding Law Teacher of the Year 2008
  • Diversity Leadership in Teaching & Research Award, UST 2008
  • Minnesota Justice Foundation, Law School Professor Award 2007
  • UST Law “Living the Mission Award”- Excellence in Public Service, 2006
  • UST Law BLSA Award for Excellence in Community Service 2005